Birding Acadia in July

IMG_0981.JPGLast July, I visited Acadia National Park in Maine for the first time. I decided to do some  birding in the park and found a great spot along the boardwalk on one of the hiking trails at the Nature Center and Wild Gardens of Acadia.

Shady Boardwalk
Shady Boardwalk
I arrived before the visitor center opened and was happy to find only a few other cars in the lot. I knew that I would have a peaceful walk. After parking, I headed on to the trail and heard a lot of birds calling. There was a lot of commotion. I soon found out why when I turned and looked into the trees. I spotted a Barred Owl perched not too far from where I was standing. I quickly snapped a photo with my phone of my first Barred Owl (life bird).

Barred Owl
Barred Owl
After the owl departed I began to see song birds and many were feeding worms to their fledglings. I also spotted cute frogs along the boardwalk.

Frogs
Frogs
If I lived in the area I would bird often here. It is a special place and I recommend a visit. The garden is open year round. Free parking is available at the Sieur de Monts Spring and Nature Center, two miles south of Bar Harbor near the intersection of the Park Loop Road and Route 3 on Mount Desert Island. There are restrooms in the parking lot.

Leave a Reply

